Home: LFDSN 2019  Programme  Travel Information  Report & Photos


Workshop on Logics for the Formation and Dynamics of Social Norm
4-5 May, 2019, Hangzhou

The aim of this workshop is to look in new systematic ways at the contrast between individual values and social values. We go beyond traditional preference or judgment aggregation, placing a focus on agents’ communication at a micro-level in social networks. In that process, agents share new evidence or arguments and they change their preferences or values. Over time, norms then emerge, where some norms die out, while others stabilize. We want to understand this complex of phenomena, with an emphasis on the interplay between social structure and dynamic communication. Parts of these social processes have been studied in different paradigms such as evolutionary game theory, or simulation-based computer science. In this workshop our focus is on also bringing in methods from dynamic-epistemic logic and argumentation theory, broadly conceived, to understand how norms emerge and survive, tied to the agents’ reasoning at each stage. We will consider case studies, such as autonomous driving and the emergence of norms to resolve conflicts, but also general themes, such as the relation between legal rules, individual and social values. We welcome work from a variety of formal perspectives.

LFDSN 2019 will take place at Zhejiang University in Hangzhou, China, 4-5 May 2019. It is funded jointly by the Convergence Research Project for Brain Research and Artificial Intelligence of Zhejiang University (titled “Logic, Cognition and Artificial Intelligence Research Team”) led by Beishui Liao at Zhejiang University, and the National Project “Logics of information Flow in Social Networks” led by Fenrong Liu at Tsinghua University.

We invite submissions from confirmed participants, projects team members and keynote speakers. In addition, we invite any submission that is highly relevant to the workshop themes below. We accept full papers (12 pages) or extended abstracts (4 A4 pages) :

– Social values
– Moral values
– Social norms
– Social networks
– Epistemic logic
– Belief revision
– Formal argumentation
– Judgement aggregation
– Deontic logic
– Preference logic
– Norm change
– Game logic
– Autonomous driving and intelligent system
– Legal reasoning
– AI Ethics
– Social epistemology

Important Dates:
Submission deadline: February 1, 2019 March 1, 2019
Notification of acceptance: March 15, 2019
Final version of accepted papers: April 1, 2019
Workshop: May 4-5, 2019

Submissions: Full papers (12 pages) or extended abstracts (4 A4 pages) must be in English and must be submitted to LFDSN 2019 EasyChair site: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=lfdsn2019

Papers should be formatted according to the CEUR style in a pdf form. The style file and a template can be found at http://www.xixilogic.org/events/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Template-for-LFDSN2019.zip

Publication: All accepted papers will be published online via [CEUR Workshop Proceedings], and authors keep the copyright. We are planning to organize a special issue or a special thematic volume after the workshop.

Center for the Study of Language and Cognition, Zhejiang University
Tsinghua University-University of Amsterdam Joint Research Center for Logic, Tsinghua University

Keynote speakers (confirmed):
Adam Brandenburger, New York University
Hanti Lin, University of California, Davis
R. Ramanujam, Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai
Olivier Roy, University of Bayreuth

Participants (confirmed):
Thomas Ågotnes, University of Bergen & Zhejiang University
Jianying Cui, Sun Yat-Sen University
Davide Fassio, Zhejiang University
Xiaoxuan Fu, Tsinghua University
Jie Gao, Zhejiang University
Haibin Gui, Tsinghua University
Guifei Jiang, Nankai University
Fengkui Ju, Beijing Normal University
Dominik Klein, University of Bayreuth & University of Bamberg
Piotr Kulicki, John Paul II Catholic University of Lublin
Bozhong Liu, Sun Yat-Sen University
Xiaolong Liu, Sun Yat-Sen University
Xinwen Liu, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences
Yang Liu, University of Cambridge
Zixin Luo, Xi’an Jiaotong University
Minghui Ma, Sun Yat-Sen University
Frederik van de Putte, University of Bayreuth
Jeremy Seligman, University of Auckland & Tsinghua University
Chenwei Shi, Tsinghua University
Yì N. Wáng, Zhejiang University
Xiaoan Wu, Tsinghua University
Tianwen Xu, China University of Political Science and Law
Junhua Yu, Tsinghua University
Zhe Yu, Sun Yat-Sen University
Tianwei Zhang, Tsinghua University

Program co-chairs:
Beishui Liao, Zhejiang University
Fenrong Liu, Tsinghua University

Local chair:
Huimin Dong, Zhejiang University